LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech baseball head coach Tim Tadlock has been named 2019 American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Diamond Midwest Regional Coach of the Year, the organization announced today.

It marks back-to-back years Tadlock has earned the accolade and the third time in his seven seasons at Tech. He also garnered the honor in 2014 and 2018. The 2019 award comes on the heels of Tech’s fourth trip to the College World Series in the last six years.

Tadlock guided the Red Raiders to a 46-20 overall record in 2019, with a 16-8 mark in Big 12 games to capture the program’s third Big 12 Championship in four years. Tech finished 7-3 in the NCAA Tournament, winning twice in Omaha to make its deepest CWS run in program history as one of the final four remaining.

Tadlock has built a program consistently elite, winning at least 45 games for the third-straight year and for the fifth time in six seasons. Tech is the only program in the country to host an NCAA Regional each of the last four seasons, one of three to earn a top-eight National Seed three of the last four years, and one of three to make it to Omaha four of the last six years.

Texas Tech baseball garnered 15 end-of-year awards from the Big 12, including First Team All-Big 12 selections Josh Jung, Cameron Warren, Gabe Holt, Caleb Kilian and Taylor Floyd, while Jung was named Big 12 Co-Player of the Year and the Bobby Bragan Collegiate Slugger Award winner. Jung was named a unanimous All-American, earning honors from six publications, as Warren (four) also racked up All-America accolades. Redshirt freshman Clayton Beeter was also recognized with a freshman All-America nod.

In the classroom, Tech had 11 Red Raiders on the Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team, highlighted by a 4.00 grade point average from Clayton Beeter. As a team, Tech received recognition by the NCAA at the College World Series as team with the highest GPA among the eight participants. Additionally, sophomore Braxton Fulford took home the NCAA’s Elite 90 award, presented to the student-athlete with the top GPA at the championship site.

Seven Red Raiders were taken in the 2019 Major League Baseball Draft with four taken in the top 10 rounds for the second straight year. Jung was selected No. 8 overall by the Texas Rangers to become the second-highest draft pick in program history. Holt (223rd – Milwaukee Brewers), Kilian (236th – San Francisco Giants), Floyd (313th – Brewers), McMillon (322nd – Tigers), Freeman (440th – Chicago White Sox) and Warren (654th – Reds) round out the selections, giving Tadlock 48 draft picks in his seven seasons at Tech.

The regional award for Tadlock makes him one of the eight nominees for the ABCA/Diamond National Coach of the Year award, which will be announced on June 27.  Tadlock and the other seven regional winners will be honored on Friday, Jan. 3 in the main clinic hall prior to the start of clinics at the 76th annual ABCA Convention, which will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 11,000 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 76th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 2-5, 2020 in Nashville, Tennessee.


Ty Parker

More about: